Some users are receiving a notification in the Instagram app that says: "It looks like you shared your password with a service to help you get more likes and followers, which goes against Community Guidelines. Change your password to continue using Instagram. If you share your new password with one of these services, you may get blocked from following, liking or commenting."
After a recent update to the Instagram algorithm, several social network profiles have received this notification, regardless of whether they perform actual actions or not. In addition to asking you to change your password, Instagram can apply temporary blocks.
Why am I receive this notification?
For years, Instagram has been working to end automation. Hundreds of fake accounts have been disabled since 2014, but just now has the platform confirmed that it would make it impossible to use automation tools, as well as remove not authentic likes and followers.
When this message can show?
Instagram may display this message for a few reasons:
1. Like, comment and follow using a bot (automation);
2. Purchase followers and/or likes;
3. Connect profile on multiple devices;
4. Sending Direct Messages automatically or in bulk.
Which actions are considered authentic by Instagram?
1. Follow and like manually for yourself or someone in charge of the profile;
2. Manually written and send direct messages;
3. Write the direct message and send it manually;
4. View stories manually.
What can I do to avoid it?
- To prevent your account from being deleted or penalized with temporary blocks, perform all actions (like, follow, comment, view stories) manually;
- Don't use automation services to gain likes or followers;
- Don't share the password with many people, use the Team feature in Postgrain;
- If the password has been changed by another device, you must update it in Postgrain.
What can I do if I received that message?
If you use any automation service to get more likes and followers, stop immediately.
- Don't take any action (like, follow, comment, view stories) on profile for a minimum of 72h and a maximum of 7 days;
- Stop using automation service to get more likes and followers;
- Link your Instagram profile with Facebook.
Does using Postgrain hurt my profile?
Postgrain values the good use of Instagram, not agreeing with any kind of spam and therefore we do not perform any kind of automation. All functions available within Postgrain must be done by a user, just as they are done in the Instagram application.
Always be aware of community guidelines to prevent your profile from being penalized. You can read more about it here.